First Area: San Martin de Porres

From Kacy on his first two weeks in the field:

I just wanted to let you know that I’ve reached the mission field here in San Martin de Porres, and proselyting has begun. It’s grimy, hectic, and makes me uncomfortable, but obviously it’s where I need to be. I just try to imagine what it would be like walking down the street if every person I saw was a member of the church; it makes things so much easier.

I don’t like this part of the city that much, but I suppose that`s why I’m here. The people that I’ve met are very humble and receptive, so it makes sense that Lima Central is a high-baptizing mission. Proselyting has already started, and my trainer is great.

I showed my companion where we live on Google Maps while we were visiting some less actives the other day. He took one look at the field and said, ‘So why don´t you sell me some of that so I can build my house there, huh?’ He´s a pretty funny guy.

It seems like something so uncommon in the United States to be anxiously engaged in the pursuit of the right religion. Here in Lima, everyone is some sort of Christian, and the streets are littered with churches and propaganda. However, that makes it so much easier to do street contacting, because when you offer people cards with Christian messages, they actually take them. And when you say you have a message that will strengthen their faith in the Savior, they say they’d be interested to hear it.

Anyway, I hope to continue receiving emails! Love you!

Elder Woodward

Leave a Reply

