Yeah, this week’s been pretty rough, honestly.

Yeah, this week´s been pretty rough, honestly. I came to a very clear awareness of some very strong personal weaknesses, and I wrestled with them almost daily. It came to the point where I felt discouraged and fatigued from trying to find some solution, some plan to overcome them. I found no such plan.

What I found, however, after much praying and pondering, was an answer from God. I was responded, more than once, and each time with greater clarity, that I should not concern myself with them for now. Instead, I felt peace and reassurance which, though difficult to accept initially, have helped me regain the energy and perspective I need to work and improve as I was so doing before.

Being on the mission has changed me for the better. Weaknesses that before were invisible to me have been fortified through my gospel service. It is for that reason that I can easily testify of the eternal importance and benefit of missionary service. But when I became aware of more of those weaknesses, I got frustrated because I dwelled on them and found nothing I could do to have them taken away. But I realized (with God´s help) that nothing I ever did on the mission, apart from serve to the best of my ability, took away my flaws.

Instead, it was God who gave me strength, even in times when I didn´t realize I needed it. And now, when I do realize that need, God tells me not to worry about it. I know I just gotta ¨press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope¨ (2 Nephi 31:20). So that about sums up my week. Here´s some other inspired counsel that helped me understand the mind of the Lord on the matter. I organized it as well as I could:

  • ¨…be still, and know that I am God.¨ (D&C 101:16)
  • ¨Ye cannot behold with your natural eyes, for the present time, the design of your God concerning those things which shall come hereafter, and the golry which shall follow much tribulation.¨ (D&C 58:3)
  • ¨…the Lord God showeth us our weakness that we may know that it is by his grace, and his great condescensions unto the children of men, that we have power¨ (Jacob 4:7)
  • ¨it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength… all things must be done in order.¨ (Mosiah 4:27)
  • ¨For behold, thus saith the Lord God: I will give unto the children of men line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little¨ (2 Nephi 28:30)
  • ¨If you will really try and not rationalize or rebel—repenting often and pleading for grace—you positively are going to be ´good enough.´¨ ~ J. Devn Cornish, October 2016
  • ¨Forget yourself and go to work.¨ ~ Bryant Stringham Hinckley, suggestion given to Gordon Bitner Hinckley

Now that´s something you could share in sacrament meeting. Hah! Your welcome. Send my love to the four corners of the earth, where all the fans reside!

Elder Kacy Hart Woodward

Leave a Reply

