This is a combination of the last two weeks

DSCN0208[1].JPGYes, it is true that I saw Gerardo (Silvia’s brother) in downtown Lima. He actually saw me. If he had not yelled, “Kacy!” Maybe I would not have seen him. The conversation was short, but cool. My zone leader was with me, and he thought it was some investigator who saw me. When we finished talking to Gerardo, I said, “Huh. That was my uncle.” My zone leader was very surprised that I ran into my uncle by chance in a city of 10 million people.

Stuff´s kinda slow here, except for the fact that CHANGES ARE TODAY! I guess you’ll know next week what happened. We’ve seen hardly any progress in two months. Honestly, I think we’ve done a bad job of explaining our purpose to people. Even when we explain it, they still don´t understand. It’s frustrating to see that they don’t comprehend the depth and value of our message, nor do they understand what we’re doing to help them reach that comprehension. Maybe further along they´ll be ready.

But hey, I´m feelin’ good. I’m learning and improving every day. We don’t eat too bad. Speaking of that, I lost my mission money for like a month and a half. I mixed up the numbers in the password for my prepaid mission card, so I couldn’t withdraw money. Finally the machine ate it. I was living off my companion’s mission and personal money, and when he ran low, we started eating about twenty raw noodles a day (combined with our big lunches and other snacks it was enough to get by). Long story short I ended up owing 200 soles to the mission and close to 200 soles to my personal funds for what I spent when I didn’t have the normal money. So I’m just in the process of paying that back with the money that comes into the mission account. I finally got a decent amount of money today.

Being on the mission has changed me for the better. Weaknesses that before were invisible to me have been fortified through my gospel service. It is for that reason that I can easily testify of the eternal importance and benefit of missionary service. I know I just gotta ¨press forward with a steadfastness in Christ, having a perfect brightness of hope¨ (2 Nephi 31:20). Here’s some inspired counsel that has helped me understand the mind of the Lord:

  • ¨…be still, and know that I am God.¨ (D&C 101:16)
  • ¨Ye cannot behold with your natural eyes, for the present time, the design of your God concerning those things which shall come hereafter, and the glory which shall follow much tribulation.¨ (D&C 58:3)
  • ¨…the Lord God showeth us our weakness that we may know that it is by his grace, and his great condescensions unto the children of men, that we have power¨ (Jacob 4:7)
  • ¨it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength… all things must be done in order.¨ (Mosiah 4:27)
  • ¨For behold, thus saith the Lord God: I will give unto the children of men line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little¨ (2 Nephi 28:30)
  • ¨If you will really try and not rationalize or rebel—repenting often and pleading for grace—you positively are going to be ´good enough.´¨ ~ J. Devn Cornish, October 2016
  • ¨Forget yourself and go to work.¨ ~ Bryant Stringham Hinckley, suggestion given to Gordon Bitner Hinckley

Anyway, I love you so much! And don’t ever think I don’t! Send my love to the four corners of the earth, where all the fans reside!

Elder Kacy Hart Woodward

P.S. We went to Larcomar as a district, but I didn´t take too many good pictures. This is basically the only good one.

Leave a Reply

